Posted by: crustynomad | June 23, 2007

London Duathlon 2007

Over the years I’ve completed four London Marathons, half a dozen half-marathons and numerous 10Ks but of late my motivation to train for running has waned. For this reason I have entered the London Duathlon of September 9th which is a 5k run, 10k cycle and another 5k run.

This will require a different type of training and focus and this should freshen me up as I aim to meet my weight target of 12 stone by 31st December 2007.

I may be running before I can walk – pun intended – but my aim beyond that is to do a Triathlon next summer.

I’m using this thread as an introduction to a detailed training log which will begin tomorrow – 10 weeks before race day! 🙂

Just to be clear I’m not starting my training tomorrow I just haven’t been talking about what I’ve done so far. I just felt that 10 weeks was a nice round number and a useful lead time to keep it interesting as we approach the race day.

I’ll be talking about nutrition, training schedules, warm-up races etc and even the weather and the state of my bike. Basically it will cover everything about my routine that moves me towards my goal of completing the London Duathlon 2007.

I hope you come along for the ride…

Please visit my Just Giving London Duathlon Sponsorship page for the benefit of Mind, the mental health charity.

Go to Day One of my London Duathlon training diary now.

Leave a Reply

Categories

