Posted by: crustynomad | June 27, 2007

London Duathlon Training #3

Tuesday 26th June 2007

Day three arrives and it’s been a better day all round as far as this 10 week diary is concerned.

I still haven’t manage a run yet which is now the fourth day in a row but I did at least do three miles on the bike, a 40 minute walk and ate and drank a good deal more healthily (see below).

I have arranged it so that I will be cycling up to 14 miles a day from next Tuesday for the duration of this training which will mean that I won’t be catching the bus.

The good thing about this method of training is that I will be using what will otherwise will be a dead time period usefully and means I won’t need to set up alternative periods for cycle training. It also means I will have to go to bed earlier and will create a more condusive routine.

As for the running I am fortunate to live next to a 5K road race route which as the kilometre markers already painted on the pavement. This is thanks to the local running club staging their annual race nearby. My first run is scheduled for tonight at 8:30pm.

The only issue I have is keeping a structured schedule for running as my mornings – my preferred time to run – is now virtually off limits because of my other commitments at that time. I will publish a weekly schedule on this site later.

Anyway, here is some information on my diet on day three…

BREAKFAST

Porridge made with semi-skimmed milk and water

Morning Snack – Banana

LUNCH

Chicken salad wholemeal roll
Nectarine

Afternoon snack – Ryvitta crackerbread and plum

DINNER

Minted Lamb chop with new potatoes, green salad and cherry tomotoes

DRINKS

Water – 4
Coffee – 2
Tea – 1

Water intake was up and coffee intake down on my usual consumption so that was good. I am targetting a 2-1 split between water and hot drinks for this period.

SLEEP

This has been my big problem of late – not getting enough sleep but I did manage six hours uninterrupted though this is clearly not enough.

Please visit my Just Giving London Duathlon Sponsorship page for the benefit of Mind, the mental health charity.

<< London Duathlon Training #2

London Duathlon Training #4 >>

Leave a Reply

Categories

