Posted by: crustynomad | June 28, 2007

London Duathlon Training #4

Wednesday 27th June 2007

Day four and I’ve done a run! 😀

Yes it’s true – I did actually do the run as planned though at 9:00pm rather than 8:30pm to ensure my evening meal had settled.

I didn’t time myself and I didn’t use a measured route – I just went where the mood took me and I was out for about 30 minutes. Considering my pace I’d estimate I’d run 2.75 miles which was slow but at least I didn’t stop.

It is important for me to enjoy this. There is, of course, a fitness goal and I have an associated sponsorship goal but ultimately I’m after the experience, the memory of doing something out of the ordinary.

Yesterday I added a link to all previous entries regarding my sponsorship page on Just Giving. I’ve also added a link for Mind – the mental health charity who will be benefit from the money raised. I will write more about why I chose Mind shortly.

DIET

I’ll admit I was a little more laxidasical – now there’s a cool word – with what I ate today. I’d forgotten to take my sandwiches to work with me so I went to Subway and had a turkey breast and ham sub with onions, peppers and tomatoes with a splash of southwest sauce. The bread was Italian herb and cheese.

This was from the Lite Lunch menu so I got an Oasis orange drink to go with it. Unfortunately I had a pang for chocolate so I bought some chocolate raisins too. (blush)

It’s no big deal to be honest because I’m not likely to finish the Duathlon amongst the elite athletes but by the same token I want to do myself justice. I just need to keep an eye on it.

In the evening I returned home to find a flambéd roast beef meal which was borderline in the edibility stakes. I wouldn’t have eaten too much anyway because of the plan to run this evening.

DRINKS

Water – 3
Coffee – 2
Tea – 0

Didn’t drink as much water today quite simply because I forgot! Otherwise I was down on hot drinks so that’s OK.

SLEEP

Another six hours uninterrupted.

Please visit my Just Giving London Duathlon Sponsorship page for the benefit of Mind, the mental health charity.

<< London Duathlon Training #3

London Duathlon Training #5 >>

Leave a Reply

Categories

