Posted by: crustynomad | July 9, 2007

London Duathlon Training #15

Sunday 8th July 2007

LONDON DUATHLON COUNTDOWN CLOCK

Day fifteen – Two 3 mile walks in accumulative time of 1hr40.

Not much to report here other than usual too-and-from work walks.

I was shattered today as it seemed this early starts and long walks plys the work itself took its toll. I’m scheduled to do this work until the end of August but I will probably stop earlier than that because I will need much more rest in the approach to race day.

I have to say that my feet felt pretty sore by the time I arrived home but at least that twinge in my knee has gone.

There was a trek of another 1.5 miles to take my youngest daughter to-and-from a party but that was about it.

One of the odd things that happened this morning was that from outside where I worked I was joined by this dog, a bitch which looked like it may have been in the mood for action if you know what I mean.

This dog just trotted alongside me which was actually rather nice but when it started chase rabbits, squirrels and other dogs I thought I may end up getting blamed for not controlling it.

Later it went across a dual-carriageway without stopping and then followed me over a railway bridge so I was getting nearer and nearer home.

I decided to go into a shop and see if I could give it the slip and after a while it went off with this other guy. Unfortunately he came back to the shop because he not unreasonably thought she was mine.

I really didn’t want the dog to come back to the house because I was worried it would stay on the doorstep and I didn’t want the hassle especially as my daughter is petrified of dogs.

In the end I went through the local park and closed the gate behind me and then went to another and slipped out, closing the gate again.

There was another way out that was open on the far side so it wasn’t trapped in there but I still felt a bit mean. I was at a bit of a loss as what to do really.

DIET

Muesli for breakfast with orange juice, apple and banana late morning and a green salad for lunch with a couple of cheery tomoatoes.

In the evening we had roast Pork, roast potatoes and Yorkshire pudding plus a few Maltessers from a pack that had melted in the sun so not much good to comment on there.

DRINKS

Water – 5
Coffee – 2
Tea – 1

Keeping the water intake up but had an extra coffee when I got back to the house first thing.

SLEEP

2hr30 – I went to bed at 2:30pm and was up at 5:00am because Jo was late back from the concert. Soooo tired! 😦

TOMORROW’S PLAN

Another two-part 6 miler as I have the Neighbourhood Council meeting. However I will dress appropriately to jog home afterwards, a distance of about a mile.

A PLEA FOR SPONSORSHIP…

Please visit my Just Giving London Duathlon Sponsorship page for the benefit of Mind, the mental health charity.

<< London Duathlon Training #14

London Duathlon Training #16 >>

Leave a Reply

Categories

