Posted by: crustynomad | July 24, 2007

London Duathlon Training #25 – #31

Wednesday 18th – Tuesday 24th July 2007

LONDON DUATHLON COUNTDOWN CLOCK

For those following my London Duathlon training will have noticed the absense of posts over the last few days. For this I apologise but there has been a reason which I’ll come to in a moment.

The good news that I’ve covered 24 miles in walking too and from the second job which I finished on Sunday. The bad news I’ve done little else. 😦

Basically through neglect I’ve been suffering from bad toothache these past few days and felt in no mood to run, walk, cycle or anything.

It all came to a head yesterday when I tried to get an appointment to get it sorted but as it has been four years since my last visit I would have to register as a new patient. That’s fair enough but I wouldn’t get an appointment until September which was of no use under the circumstances.

In the evening I tried to get into two others but they were closed as was the NHS Dental Walk-In Centre. This failure to get treatment lead to a very restless night where I got up at 3:00am and dozed in front of the TV before getting up at 6:00am.

I then dosed myself up again on pain killers and some Orajel to numb the gum (though I was so careless with it I did little but numb my lips instead).

I wanted to be up early anyway as I wanted to be at the Walk-In Centre for when it opened at 7:45am but even then I couldn’t get to be seen until 10:00am.

When I was finally seen it was by a corker of a dental nurse who was on verge of chatting me up with her patter but I guess she’s like this with everyone to put them at their ease.

A couple of gum scratches with aneasthetic which had me slobbering down my chin once the numbness set in and within 3-4 minutes both the (adjacent) bad teeth were removed. Couldn’t believe it – I didn’t feel a thing!

All in all I was pleased with the care I received and at 15.90 it was very reasonably priced I thought. One thing is for certain I won’t be waiting four years for my next appointment!

I had to take it easy for the rest of the day and I will perhaps will do again tomorrow but I’m really conscious that I’ve done virtually zero for a week now apart from the walking to the second job. Now that’s ceased I must get out as soon as possible.

Oh, and I’ve chosen a new bike and will buy it on Thursday – HURRAH! 🙂

A PLEA FOR SPONSORSHIP…

Please visit my Just Giving London Duathlon Sponsorship page for the benefit of Mind, the mental health charity.

Leave a Reply

Categories

