Posted by: crustynomad | March 14, 2008

Epilepsy drug side effects – ‘I’m happy the way I am, thanks’

Some of you may know that I have a mild form of epilepsy called petit mal. My mother called a while back to say she’d heard of this new drug that may be able to stop the ‘blackouts’ that I’ve been having for last 17 years.

It’s called Keppra and looking at the side effects I think I’m happier the way I am!

  • sleepiness or feeling tired
  • weakness
  • difficulty coordinating muscles normally, (e.g., abnormal walk)
  • aggression, anger, and irritability
  • agitation, anxiety, and other mood changes
  • decreased ability to cope with daily life events
  • feeling depressed or worsening depression
  • thoughts of suicide

Actually, these sound a little like the results of working in a 9-to-5 job in general! Maybe I should take the new stuff anyway, and a bucket of Prozac to cure all the side effects. I might rattle a bit at least I should have a smile on my face…even if it’s coupled with scary, glazed expression.

Incidentally, I have already written on my blog about curing my own epilepsy. Why not take a look?

Leave a Reply

Categories

