Posted by: crustynomad | October 23, 2008

Why blog?

I think I’ve essentially missed the point of blogging. Much of what I write is observational, some of it is to designed to educate or at least offer a personal view point of a subject but I think the way I structure it just plain wrong.

I’m always impressed how people can keep coming up with material day in and day out when there’s not really a lot else to say. Maybe I take it too seriously. Maybe I want to be seen as a some kind of life guru but if my posts vary from tales of blind dates with Italian rabbit breeders, getting into sticky situations with drunk Glaswegian Eric Cantona lookalikes, song lists for Tony Robbins events and charity fund raising techniques I’m a bit all over the place.

Maybe I’m just putting too much pressure on myself. Maybe I should just lighten up and just say what a crap day I’m having and not tell anyone what I think of the format of the Euro2012 football championships. Unless you are Ukranian or Polish or Michel Platini, no-one really cares anyway.

Why do we blog? Do we still get some absurd pleasure with seeing ourselves and work on screen? Is it a bit like being on the telly? It’s not 1996 anymore so shouldn’t you all be trying to do something a bit more useful like my ironing?

Answers on a postcard or in the helpful comments box below.

Leave a Reply

Categories

