Posted by: crustynomad | June 26, 2009

Michael Jackson and Arthritic Moonwalking

So it was true. Michael Jackson dies and no-one can quite believe it. Few will be surprised that he didn’t complete a full innings however but I don’t think there would be many that expected that this would be the moment that he would meet his maker…whoever that might be.

A couple of weeks ago I was chatting about Mr Jackson and his 50 date residency at the O2 Arena and we were all agreed that we couldn’t see him completing all the dates – that would be hard enough for a young man let alone someone walking around with hardly any body part he started out with.

It’s testement to his back catalogue and reputation as a performer that he could sell out so many shows, and I hear there were options for more, but his fragile physical and mental state would make that number of dates too much to take surely. I could be doing him a disservice but as he didn’t even make the first concert it would be hard argue otherwise.

I quite like MJ’s music and I would happily sit down and listent to his albums. Having said that, I must be the only person in the world not to own a copy of Thriller in any format. I’ve never seen Star Wars either so I guess I’m a bit of a deviant in that respect. What interests me about all this now is what is going to happen to the music charts. As downloads count as units sold now, it’s not inconceivable that Jacko could occupy the whole of the Top 10 come the next rundown. In fact, on Amazon earlier, the top 14 best selling albums were all by Michael Jackson. It’s somehow ironic that as someone who was virtually bankrupt with lawsuits coming out of his ears that he wouldn’t need the O2 gigs to pay his paper bill.

When I got up this morning I told my seven year-old daughter that Michael had died. She asked me how and I explained that he’d had a heart attack and she says, “Oh, like grandma”.

It’s hard to imagine my recently deceased mother having anything in common with Michael Jackson but now they’ll have something to talk about on the other side. After 47 years with rheumatoid arthritis I just can’t see her and Michael moonwalking together which I think is a shame.

Article posted on: http://alphainventions.com

Responses

  1. […] More: Michael Jackson and Arthritic Moonwalking […]

  2. Number one album and 43 tracks in the singles charts in just three days: http://www.bloomberg.com/apps/news?pid=20601088&sid=aT0VwKOcY1uM


Leave a Reply

Categories

